Skip to main content

Jung-Kellogg Learning Center

MBU dedicates Jung-Kellogg Learning Center

In conjunction with Homecoming 2019, Missouri Baptist University celebrated the completion of the Jung-Kellogg Learning Center Oct. 18 with a formal dedication and ribbon cutting.

The new Learning Center, formerly the Jung-Kellogg Library, is aimed at empowering the 21st-century student to engage in innovative learning.  As part of the project, the University worked to significantly downsize its print collection to provide space for the project.  The Learning Center includes collaborative workstations, ideation labs equipped with state-of-the-art technology, a state-of-the-art pitch room complete with video conferencing capabilities, and the MBU Makerspace, an area designed to encourage creativity and teamwork.  The recently-aligned Office of Alumni Engagement and Career Development is also housed in the Learning Center, emphasizing the University’s priority to prepare students for a life of service and success upon graduation.

“Today, we take the next step as we add the resources of tomorrow to the resources of yesterday,” said President Ross. “This renovation will support our continual transformation in the way we create, preserve and disseminate knowledge.”

The donor-funded project was led by alumni and a planning committee of faculty, students and staff. Construction began in summer 2019; the space opened for student use earlier this fall.

 

The FISH Makerspace

The FISH Makerspace

The FISH Makerspace is a collaborative creative space where students’ learning can develop to the next level. This flexible learning space includes Apple computers with creative software and high-top whiteboard tables, so students can collaborate to sketch out ideas, notes, and designs. The space includes overhead outlets and a retractable glass “garage door” wall that can be easily opened or closed for multifunctional use.

The Petty Commons

The Petty Commons 

The Petty Commons is an inviting open area complete with a fireplace, comfortable couches and chairs, custom made trestle tables and a four-screen TV wall. The TV wall broadcasts multiple news and entertainment sources throughout the day. Each screen can be used independently or combined into one large, single image. Students can also wirelessly cast their device to any of the screens for presentations.

 

The Gwaltney Quiet Room

The Gwaltney Quiet Room

This set-apart space allows students a quiet place to focus on their studies. Students can work at tables or use provided Apple computers.

 

The Duvall Pitch Room

The Duvall Pitch Room

This technology-rich space utilizes the latest technology and transforms the classroom into a leading industry setting. The Duvall Pitch Room is optimized for video conferencing, and open to students when not reserved.

 

The Diehl Family Ideation Lab and The Henry Ideation Lab

The Diehl Family Ideation Lab and The Henry Ideation Lab

The ideation labs provide small groups to collaborate and study together. The spaces include the ability for students to project their devices to a television, fostering further collaboration.

 

The Petty Commons

The Conference Room

The Conference Room provides a space for organizations and teams to meet in a collaborative environment. The 75-inch screen allows easy wireless screen sharing and a quiet space for concentration.

 

Collection Assessment Project Plan

Purpose of the Project Plan 

The Collection Assessment Project Plan will provide a definition of the project, including the project's goals and objectives. Additionally, the project plan will serve as a living document that is updated as the project progresses. 

Background 

In Fall 2017, the Library received a generous donation to begin an extensive renovation of the library's existing space. The Library Task Force was formed to oversee the renovation project. One of the task force's main objectives was to create collaborative learning spaces for students including small group meeting rooms and collaborative workstations. Significant downsizing - approximately 70% - of the library's print collection would have to be completed as the first phase of the renovation project. 

Project Approach

  1. The Library will initiate a communications plan to inform Division Chairs of the space reclamation project. This step includes electronic outreach, face-to-face meetings with division chairs and faculty members, and presentations to Dean's Council and Faculty meetings. 
  2. The Library will identify items for deaccessioning based on the selection criteria as stated above. 
  3. The Library will distribute these lists of eligible items to Division Chairs and the faculty group email list.
  4. Faculty can request items to be removed from consideration of this project by consulting with colleagues and review by Division Chairs who confirm an ongoing need for the title. 
  5. Items identified for deaccessioning will be pulled from the shelves and processed for withdraw. A record of deaccessioned items will be kept. The MBU Library Catalog (as well as MOBIUS listings and OCLC) will be updated to reflect withdraw. 
  6. The MBU community will be allowed to remove deaccessioned materials after library staff have completed their work provided it is not disruptive to staff workflows. The requestor must retrieve any deaccessioned items before a specified date. It is the requestor's responsibility to retrieve requested materials - library staff will not make deliveries of deaccessioned materials. 
  7. Last MOBIUS copies will be retained by Jung-Kellogg Library, offered to MOBIUS members, or recycled. 
  8. Deaccessioned materials will be recycled. Better World Books will accept some monographs. Better World Books does not take journals; deaccessioned journals will be recycled. 

Phase One: Circulating Collections (Stacks + Oversize)

Library staff have identified those items in the circulating collection that have no recorded circulation history (zero checkouts). These items make up the library's primary weeding list. Faculty feedback is requested no later than May 4th, 2018. Library staff will begin processing selected materials for withdraw the following week.  

Master Weeding List: Stacks A-Z (Zero Checkouts) 

This list contains those items with zero circulation history. It is available as a google spreadsheet and includes columns for "Keep/Withdraw," faculty member name, division, and a section for comments. For more information about the Library of Congress Classification system, please click here

The Library would like to make available any of the discarded library titles. We are encouraging small donations of non-perishable food items. After the materials are processed for withdraw, Library staff will make items available to the MBU community. The MBU community will be provided with a date by which they need to retrieve materials. After which, the Library will continue the withdraw process. Titles must be selected by the MBU community member. Discarded materials must be picked up by the individual making the request. The Library will not make deliveries to offices, homes, etc. 

Timeline 

  • Complete. MBU Library Staff select items for withdraw based on zero circulation history.
  • Complete. Master Weeding List: Stacks A-Z is provided to division chairs and faculty members. Feedback is requested no later than May 4, 2018. 
  • CompleteFebruary - April: Last Copy in MOBIUS check 
    Library staff identify items on the Master Weeding List: Stacks A-Z that are last MOBIUS copies. Last copy titles will be offered to MOBIUS member libraries. 
  • Complete. March - May: Blue Dot Project
    Library staff mark library books that are up for review with a blue sticker. Why? To help library staff quickly identify those items up for review and process for withdraw and to help faculty members "browse" the shelves. 
  • Complete. MBU Community is invited to select potential library discards for personal use. Feedback is requested no later than May 11, 2018. 
  • Complete. May-April: Weeding Project 
    Library staff process selected items for withdrawal.
  • Complete. May 1, 2019: Renovation Begins
  • Complete. October 2019: Renovation Complete

 

Library Renovation Information

The library renovation, completed Fall 2019, provided an engaging atmosphere that supports collaborative thinking and challenges students and faculty to access knowledge in a variety of ways. The renovated space focuses on creating unique study spaces for students, including collaborative workstations and small meeting rooms. Understanding the need for quiet study, a designated quiet study area has been set aside for the more traditional library user. This dedicated quiet study area will be closely monitored by library staff to control the noise volume. 

In order to pave the way for the space necessary for the updated learning environment, a large scale weeding project was completed. The main goal of any weeding project is to maintain a high level of access to quality research materials for students, faculty, and staff. The Library required everyone's help to accomplish this goal. The Library will continue to maintain its reciprocal borrowing agreements with MOBIUS. More information about the weeding project is available on the Collection Assessment Project page. 

Library Task Force Members

Dr. Andy Chambers, Senior Vice President for Student Development
Mrs. Rebekah McKinney, Director of Library Services 
Mr. Bryce Chapman, Associate Vice President of University Communications and Marketing 
Mr. Brian Knapp, Alumni Relations Manager
Mr. Ken Revenaugh, Senior Vice President for Business Affairs 
Mrs. Amanda Staggenborg, Instructor of Public Relations and Communications 


 

Renovation Timeline

  • October 2017 - May 2018: Collection Assessment Project (Circulating Collection) 
  • March - April: Last MOBIUS Copy check 
    Library staff review titles on Master Weeding List: Stacks A-Z to determine if item is last MOBIUS copy. 
  • April - May: Blue Dot Project 
    Library staff are busy marking items for review with a blue dot on the spine label. 
  • May - April: Library staff process materials for withdraw.
  • May 1, 2019: Renovation begins.
  • October 2019: Renovation completed!

Master Weeding Lists

Circulation Collection Review Pictures

Circulating Collection Review Packet

These review packets are being placed throughout the stacks to allow faculty the chance to review titles as they browse the shelves. Review packets include a Call Number Cheat sheet and review slips. 

Blue Dot Project

The Library staff is busy marking titles up for review with a blue dot on the spine label. The blue dot will help library staff easily identify those items that show zero circulation history or have otherwise been selected for withdraw with faculty input. 

Review Slips

The green review slip allows faculty to mark items as they browse the shelves. Please make sure to keep the slip visible (like a bookmark) inside the book. Don't see any slips in the review folders? Ask a library staff member!