Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A variety of Human Services websites are linked below in six categories, such as Disability Issues, Substance Abuse, Therapeutic Recreation, Trauma Counseling, Social Work, and Spirituality. Remember 'buyer beware' when searching on the Internet. Be cautious and evaluate your results carefully. Be sure to ask your instructor if you may incorporate reputable websites in your class project.
Provides a collection of evidence based, systematic reviews
Annie E. Casey Foundation
Focuses on developing solutions to build a brighter future for children, families and communities.
National Association of Social Workers
Provides guidance, research, up to date information, advocacy, and other resources for its members and for social workers in general.
NCJRS - National Criminal Justice Reference Service
A federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
Provides searchable index of over 25,000 tests. Tests that were published in journals or books should have a citation for the source publication. Some of tests may be purchased through the ETS store, others may be available from publishers
A freely accessible online library that allows teachers and others to search and discover open educational resources (OER) and other freely available instructional materials.
Monitor the Future
An ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of Americans from adolescence through adulthood.
David Baldwin's Trauma Info Pages contain an index, information about trauma, research on trauma, support information, disaster information, and pages of Web links by topic.
Child Trauma Academy
Provides materials aimed at professional caregivers dealing with trauma in children and infants. The "CTA Materials" section may be the most useful.
Christianity and Human Service
A large and useful site by the National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information. It contains resources, research, statistics, searchable databases, online forums, and provides links to other related Internet sites.
An excellent collection of links to reliable Web sources. These are arranged into 8 general categories and subdivided into more specific ones. Very frequently updated.
Provides huge collection of links by topic to information on AA and other twelve step programs, general recovery issues, adolescent substance abuse, codependency, eating issues, sex addiction, smoking cessation, etc.
NIH - National Institute on Drug Abuse
Provides a variety of sources of information NIDA uses to monitor the prevalence and trends regarding drug abuse in the United States.
SAMHSA - NREPP
SAMHSA again, but its 'evidence based programs and practices' registry.
The American Therapeutic Recreation Association site includes standards of practice, career information, resources, and Association publications.
National Center on Health, Physical Activity and Disability (NCHPAD)
Disabled Sports USA
Provides adaptive sports and Learn how we help 60,000 youth and adults with disabilities each year develop independence, confidence and fitness.
Many links to web sites relating to both general disability issues and on specific disabilities.
Blindness Resource Center
Includes all sorts of information on visual disabilities, including physiological factors, technological innovations, advocacy, and more. Many links to related sites also.
Federal Government - Disability Information
Provides huge variety of information divided into several categories, such as employment, education, technology, etc. Site is called "Disabilityinfo.gov".
National Organization on Disability
Covers a wide variety of information on Community Involvement, Economic Participation, and Access to Independence.
The National Rehabilitation Information Center has information for the public and for researchers.