Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
The collection of a consortium of 12 natural history and botanical libraries, including digitized books and journals. Especially strong in 19th century writings.
Over 100 Open Access journals in the life sciences and medicine. Also searchable via PubMed.
Search interface and tools for the Biodiversity Heritage Library (see above) and related resources.
E-prints in information and library science
Free Full Text Journals in Chemistry
Online chemistry journals available either in full or in a trial. Separate lists for educational and Russian journals.
Historic American Newspapers - Chronicling America
Scanned historic US newspapers from 1836-1920, and a US newspaper directory, make up this collection from the Library of Congress.
LIS Scholarship Archive Preprints
Preprints (pre-publication versions of articles, including non-published papers, conference papers, etc.) in Library and Information Sciences
A developing open access project in folklore studies. The project itself is still in development, but there are links to the existing online collections in each category.
Center for Open Science collection of preprints and speciality preprint archives. (Preprints are pre-publication versions of articles, including non-published articles, conference papers, etc.)
A medical/life science oriented pre-print (pre-publication versions of articles) search engine. Currently searching Figshare, PeerJ Preprints, bioRXiv, and F1000. See Help for more info and search suggestions.
PubMed Central (PMC)
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Search the technical and report literature from many of the science-related agencies of the US federal government, such as the Department of Energy and the EPA.
Scirus is a search engine devoted to science subjects. On the advanced search page, you can limit your search to articles. If you also uncheck the "All journal sources" box, you will get only web based materials, including many full text articles in institutional repositories, such as University of Toronto's T-Space. (To search the journal literature covered by the "All journal sources", log in to the SCSU database ScienceDirect with a lot of full text available by our subscription.)