Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Worship Arts

Database Search Strategies

What Kind of Source Should You Use?

Do you need…

Try this…

Background information, an overview, or established facts?

Reference books and online databases, such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, authoritative websites, etc.

Comprehensive information on a topic?

General books in print and online (ebooks)

Current, in depth information?

Scholarly journal articles (use online periodical databases!)

Current, general information?

Popular magazines, newspapers, news websites

Search Strategies

Article databases have the following important features that enable you to search more effectively.

1. ALWAYS use Advanced Search, instead of Basic Search.

2. Use Abstract or Subject field search for better search results.

3. Use Boolean Operators AND, OR, or NOT to include or exclude two keywords.   

4. Use Limiters. Article databases allow you to limit searches to specific criteria such as publication date, periodical title, full-text, scholarly (peer-reviewed), etc.

5. Do not use database search stop-words, such as articles, pronouns, and prepositions. For example, a, an, the, in, of, on, are, be, if, into, and which

Key Databases for Worship Arts

Other Related Databases

For More Scholarly Articles

Journals A-Z

It allows you to locate individual journals if you are looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, or an article citation. It contains access to 41,739 titles! 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary loan allows you to borrow or otherwise acquire materials not held by the Jung-Kellogg Library or MOBIUS from other libraries. If you are unable to locate the material you need, please contact the Interlibrary Loan Clerk by filling out one of the forms to the right. Click here to fill out the ILL request form.

Google Scholar

It enables you to search Google specifically for scholarly literature. Fast and easy resource, but remember that it is not comprehensive in any way and there are no summaries or abstracts. Especially useful for cited reference searching. Use the Advanced Search option for best results.

For many more databases, please visit Databases A-Z  Journals A-Z .