Skip to main content

Counseling: School Counseling

This guide is designed to help you get started with your research in counseling. It includes books, databases, journals and links to useful websites. Your suggestions are welcome.

Specialized Databases

Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Child Development & Adolescent Studies is today’s source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. More than 342,000 records are included with over 10,000 new records added each year.

Explora Educators Edition
Explora Educators provides over more than 2,100 scholarly and over 7,100 peer-reviewed fulltext journals. Among them, there are over 500 high quality educational journals. In addition, this database provides access to lesson plans, students tools, curriculum standards and links to sites valuable for teachers. 

Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators and provides over 520 education journals with 350 being peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains over 200 educational reports.

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Ebooks

Please search EBSCO eBooks and ProQuest Ebook Central for more eBooks.

Books

Recommended Websites

  • ASCA Ethical Standards for School Counselors 
    Specifies the obligation to the principles of ethical behavior necessary to maintain the high standards of integrity, leadership and professionalism.
  • 20 Amazing Search Engines and Databases for High School Counselors
    Use these 20 amazing search engines and databases to get the latest lesson plans in all sorts of subjects, look up the latest journal entries without a subscription, and even help college bound students select and pay for a higher education.
  • American School Counselor Association 
    The American School Counselor Association (ASCA) provides professional development, publications and other resources, research and advocacy to professional school counselors around the globe.‚Äč
  • Professional School Counseling Journal
    The flagship journal of the school counseling profession, is a rigorous peer-reviewed journal that publishes high-quality manuscripts on theory, research and best practices for the profession. Also explored are techniques, materials and ideas to assist school counselors and related practitioners at all levels in their professional development. 
  • The Praxis Series Study Companion
    Using the Praxis Series Study Companion is a smart way to prepare for the test so you can do your best on the test day. This guide can help keep you on track and make the most efficient use of your study time.

Helping Hands and Words