Skip to main content

Counseling: Web Resources

This guide is designed to help you get started with your research in counseling. It includes books, databases, journals and links to useful websites. Your suggestions are welcome.

Professional Organizations

It is important to remember when searching for information on the 'free web' that there is no 'quality control' or editor. The following is a list of association sites that have been reviewed in terms of their authority, objectivity, and accuracy. They can provide you with objective and reliable information:

  • American Counseling Association ACA is a not-for-profit, professional and educational organization that is dedicated to the growth and enhancement of the counseling profession. 
  • American Association of Christian Counseling AACC assists Christian counselors and the entire community of care by providing a counselor directory, topical publications and journals, and training opportunities.
  • American Association of Pastoral Counseling AAPC provides information toAAPC members, potential members and the general public.
  • American Group Psychotherapy Association AGPA provides vital information on group psychotherapy in a variety of ways. Our efforts provide global access to group psychotherapy education and professional development, research, and outreach services 
  • American Mental Health Counselors Association The AMHCA is the world’s largest psychiatric organization. It is a medical specialty society representing more than 33,000 psychiatric physicians from the United States and around the world.
  • American School Counselor Association ASCA supports school counselors’ efforts to help students focus on academy, career and social/emotional development so they achieve success in school and society. 
  • Association for Assessment and Research in Counseling The Association for Assessment and Research in Counseling (AARC) is an organization of counselors, educators, and other professionals that advances the counseling profession by promoting best practices in assessment, research, and evaluation in counseling.
  • MindFreedom International MFI is to protect the rights of people who have been labeled with psychiatric disorders. It features survivors' tales and news about issues and trends. 
  • National Board for Certified Counselors NBCC is an independent not-for-profit credentialing body for counselors, was incorporated in 1982 to establish and monitor a national certification system, to identify those counselors who have voluntarily sought and obtained certification, and to maintain a register of those counselors.
  • National Center for Education Statistics NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
  • National Christian Counselors Association NCCA is a nonprofit organization providing professional counselor training and licensing in order to get your Christian counseling certification.
  • The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism NIAAA provides leadership in the national effort to reduce alcohol-related problems.
  • The National Institute on Drug Abuse NIDA strives to advance science on the causes and consequences of drug use and addiction and to apply that knowledge to improve individual and public health.
  • National Institutes of Mental Health NIMH strives to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure.

More Web Resources

  • All About Counseling 
    This site is about providing helpful information on counseling and social issues, and having a place for people to express themselves in those areas.
  • ACA Code of Ethics 
    Counseling is a professional relationship that empowers diverse individuals, families, and groups to accomplish mental health, wellness, education, and career goals. Professional values are an important way of living out an ethical commitment.
  • ASCA Ethical Standards for School Counselors specifies the obligation to the principles of ethical behavior necessary to maintain the high standards of integrity, leadership and professionalism.
  • Child Welfare Information Gateway
  • CWIG promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children, youth, and families by connecting child welfare, adoption, and related professionals as well as the public to information, resources, and tools covering topics on child welfare, child abuse and neglect, out-of-home care, adoption, and more.
  • Comucopia of Disability Information
    CODI serves as a community resource for consumers and professionals by providing disability information in a wide variety of areas. It provides access to full text articles, directories, and guides to disability information, and includes links to other relevant disability-related sites.
  • The Counseling Center Village 
    CCV brings together in a single organized web site the expertise and resources of counseling center professionals so that we can all benefit from each others’ efforts.
  • Mentalhealth Gov
  • MHG provides one-stop access to U.S. government mental health information. This site explains the basics of mental health, myths and facts. 
  • National Alliance on Mental Illness
    NAMI is the nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness.
  • Prevention Hub 
    Prevention Hub is a focal point for sharing research, policy and effective practice. It builds networks and supports the global drug prevention community.
  • Psychocentral
    ‚Äč
    PC is the Internet’s largest and oldest independent mental health social network. Since 1995, this award-winning website run by mental health professionals offering reliable, trusted information and over 250 support groups to consumers.
  • Wise Old Sayings
    Wise Old Sayings is a database of thousands of inspirational, humorous, and thoughtful quotes, sorted by category for your enjoyment.

Helping Hands & Words