Skip to main content

Counseling: Articles

This guide is designed to help you get started with your research in counseling. It includes books, databases, journals and links to useful websites. Your suggestions are welcome.

Search Strategies

What Kind of Source Should You Use?

Do you need…

Try this…

Background information, an overview, or established facts?

Reference books and online databases, such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, authoritative websites, etc.

Comprehensive information on a topic?

General books in print and online (ebooks)

Current, in depth information?

Scholarly journal articles (use online periodical databases!)

Current, general information?

Popular magazines, newspapers, news websites

Search Strategies

Article databases have following important features that enable you to search more effectively.

1. ALWAYS use Advanced Search, Instead of Basic Search.

2. Using Abstract or Subject field search for better search results.

3. Using Boolean Operators AND, OR,  or NOT to include or exclude two keywords.   

4. Using Limiters. Article databases allow you to limit searches to specific criteria such as publication date, periodical title, full-text, scholarly (peer-reviewed), etc.

 5. Do not use database search Stop-words, such as articles, pronouns, and prepositions. For example, a, an, the, in, of,   on, are, be, if, into, and which are called database search stop-words. 

Key Databases

Academic OneFile ‚Äčis the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.

EBSCO Academic Search Elite is a core resource of scholarly information for academic institutions worldwide. This database contains full text for more than 2,100 journals, over 150 journals are full-texted dating back to 1985.

EBSCO Education Full Text provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.

EBSCO ERIC contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. 

EBSCO PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association. 

Expanded Academic ASAP covers everything from art, humanities, psychology, and literature to economics and the sciences. It integrates the full text of publications from across the disciplinesIt provides indexing for more than 5,000 periodicals, more than 2,800 in full text. 

Psychology Collection provides academic magazines and journals that cover studies of emotion, personality, and human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.

Psychotherapy.Net provides a collection of videos covering a wide variety of tools and techniques from a broad selection of psychotherapeutic approaches, making it an ideal training resources for students, interns, and mental health professionals. 

For many more databases, please visit Databases A-Z  

More Journal Articles

In-house Journals

* Counseling Today
* 
Counselor Education & Supervision
* International Journal of Testing
* Journal of Substance Abuse
   Treatment

* Journal of Counseling &
   Development

Journal of Counseling Psychology
Journal of Family Theory & Review
Journal of Marriage & Family
* 
Journal of Multicultural Counseling &
   Development

Journal of Positive Behavior  
   Intervention

Psychology Today

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary loan allows you to borrow or otherwise acquire materials not held by the Jung-Kellogg Library or MOBIUS from other libraries. If you are unable to locate the material you need, please contact the Interlibrary Loan Clerk by filling out one of the forms to the right. Click here to fill out the ILL request form. 

Google Scholars

It enables you to search Google specifically for scholarly literature. Fast and easy resource, but remember that it is not comprehensive in any way and there are no summaries or abstracts. Especially useful for cited reference searching. Use the Advanced Search option for best results. Click here to start.

Helping Hands & Words