Skip to main content

Counseling: Books

This guide is designed to help you get started with your research in counseling. It includes books, databases, journals and links to useful websites. Your suggestions are welcome.

Search for Books that You Can Check out or Read Online

Search Strategies for finding books in print

  • If you don’t know a particular author or title, the best way to start the search for books is to perform a keyword search.
  • You might try using AND to combine two keywords for retrieving more specific results. 
  • If you can’t find what you need in MBU Library Catalog click on MOBIUS Catalog on the library homepage. 
  • Click Request by the book title to process your request of the book.

eBooks

  • EBSCO eBooks 
    EBSCO eBooks contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs. EBSCO eBooks are also available in MBU Library Catalog.
  • Ebook Central
    Ebook Central is a collection of thousands of digitized titles in science, education and business that allows the user to search, browse, read the content of the item online, copy and download the needed information.
  • Google Books
    Google Books allows you to search within the contents of books in ways a traditional library catalog cannot. It is a good way to locate a specific chapter or reference within a book that is useful to your research. When you find a good book on your topic, be sure to check MBU Library Catalog or MOBIUS Catalog to see if a copy of it is locally available.

Reference Books & Online Resources

Key Reference Resources in Print

Online Reference Resources

  • The ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling 
    This premiere counseling reference book is ideal for students, educators, supervisors, researchers, and practitioners seeking to quickly update or refresh their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling.
  • Britannica Online 
    Explore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.
  • Encyclopedia of Counseling 
  • It is a master review and tutorial for the National Counselor Examination (NCE), State Counseling Exams (SCE), and the Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE). 
  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
    SEP combines an online encyclopedia of philosophy with peer reviewed publication of original papers in philosophy, freely accessible to Internet users. It is maintained by Stanford University.

Helping Hands & Words