Skip to main content

eBooks: eBook Collections (EBSCOhost)

All about eBooks

About EBSCO eBooks

 

Provides the full-text of thousands of recently-published books from selected academic and commercial publishers, as well as the full-text of a large number of older works in the public domain.

EBSCO eBooks app

With the app users can:

  • Search and browse the library's entire EBSCO eBooks collection
  • Place holds on titles
  • Download titles to the app and read even when offline
  • Sync bookmarks and recent positions in title across mobile devices
  • Customize the reading experience by adjusting settings
  • Easily return e-books to when they finish reading

How to Download EBSCO eBooks to Mobile Devices Using the EBSCO eBooks app

  1. Download the EBSCO eBooks app from Google Play or iTunes
  2. Find your country, state, then library and sign in to access their collection
  3. Search and browse to find titles you're interested in
  4. Download an EBSCO eBooks by clicking on the "Download" link on the search result page or from within the record
  5. Select your preferred checkout period and click "Checkout & Download"
  6. The title automatically opens in the EBSCO eBooks app
  7. Begin reading the title in the app, bookmark your place for later, and return it to the library's collection when finished

Source: Information from EBSCO eBooks and AudioBooks

Helpful links from EBSCO

EBSCO eBooks App Quick Start Guide
A quick start user guide for downloading and using EBSCO eBooks.
EBSCO Help
Frequently asked questions, help sheets, tutorials, user guides.
Downloading eBooks
How to Download eBooks on EBSCOhost to Portable Devices and How to View eBooks on EBSCOhost on Your Computer through the Web-Based Interface.

Ask a Librarian

          Contact a librarian for help

Downloading EBSCO eBooks

Set Up Instructions for a My EBSCOhost Account

  1. Click the Sign In in the top toolbar of the screen.

  2. From the Sign In Screen, click the Create a new Account link.

                            Create new account screen

  3. The Create a New Account Screen appears with Personal Account entered in the Account Type field. Fill in the fields on the Create a New Account Screen. When you have completed the fields, click Save Changes.

                           Create Personal Account Screen

  4. If all the information was accepted, a message appears that provides your user name and password. Click OK. You will be automatically logged in as a personal user. You should note the user name and password you created so you can log in at a future session.

Source: Information from EBSCOHelp 

Step-by-Step Download Instructions

Note: In order to download eBooks, you must have Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher. This is a free download at http://www.adobe.com/products/digital-editions/download.html.

To download an eBook:

  1. Sign in to your My EBSCOhost account (for instructions on creating this account, please see the box below).
  2. Click the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.

                downloading an ebook

    If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost account, you are prompted to do so.

  3. Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button.

    Note: For some titles, you may see the option to select either the PDF or ePub format for an eBook.

                select ebook format

  4. The eBook is added to the Checkout area of the folder, accessible from the upper-right corner of the EBSCOhost interface.

  5. Select to Open or Save the file from the resulting dialog box.

    If you Open the file, your eBook is opened with Adobe® Digital Editions.

    If you Save the file, the eBook is saved to your computer and can be opened with Adobe® Digital Editions at a later time.

  6. When a downloaded eBook is opened, it is displayed in Adobe® Digital Editions.

Source: Information from EBSCOHelp