Skip to main content

Music: Home

Music resources at Jung-Kellogg Library

Study Scores

To see if we have a particular score in the library, use our library catalog.  Scores in this collection will have the following call numbers that start with the numbers indicated for the following composers:

Composer Call Number Starts With...
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) M3 .B11...
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) M3 .B44...
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) M3 .B72...
George Frideric Handel (1685-1759) M3 .H26...
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy (1809-1847) M3 .M463...
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) M3 .M69...
Giovanni Pierluigi Palestrina (1525-1594) M3 .P15...

Music Databases

NOTICE:  If you are accessing these databases from outside of the MBU campus, you will be required to enter your MBU student or faculty/staff ID and password in order to use them.

The International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts, with over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance.

IPA Source is the largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.

Library Music Source is a giant classical sheet music database of 600+ composers and 15,000+ works.  It includes all the piano works of Chopin and Beethoven, all the songs of Schubert, etc., and other scores and parts to over 625 standard orchestra works.

Music Periodicals Database (formerly IIMP) covers nearly all aspects of music and indexes more than 375 U.S. and international music periodical titles from over 20 countries, most of which carry the full text of articles online.

Naxos Music Library is an online audio resource database for classical music listening and for classical instruction. Contains text resources as well as opera synopses, opera libretti and several audiobooks on music.

Oxford Music Online is an online version of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians and other Oxford music resources.

REFERENCE POLICIES AND COPYRIGHT NOTICE

Books in the reference room must stay in the library at all times. You are, however, welcome to photocopy anything out of any book in the reference room. However, keep in mind that copyright laws do apply when photocopying material out of library materials. Per the fair use policy, federal copyright laws limit you to photocopying no more than the equivalent of one (1) chapter of any printed work.

Opera

Looking for reference material on opera?  If you use the following resources, you'll have a happy ending and not a tragic one when you get your grades on your assignments involving opera! :-)

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Our reference room has numerous music-related encyclopedias and dictionaries that can take you into great depths of information about anything music-related, whether it's on musical instruments, the life story of composers, famous musicians, and much more. Such resources include but are not by any means limited to the following:

 

In addition, one of our online databases, Oxford Music Online, has encyclopedic entries that are considered to be as in-depth as those found in The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.

NOTE:  If you are accessing Oxford Music Online from outside of the MBU campus, you must enter your student ID number and password before you will be allowed to use it from off-campus.

Jazz Reference Materials

If you are looking for dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials about jazz, you've come to the right place!  We have jazz resources such as the following to help you in your research:

Musical Theatre

We have you covered when it comes to reference material on musical theatre:

Pop/Rock Music

Is your assignment on anything dealing with popular music of the 20th century or the here and now?  Our libguides will help bring your musical research into the here and now with the following:

Circulation Librarian

Fred McKinney's picture
Fred McKinney
Contact:
1 College Park Drive
St. Louis, MO 63141
314-392-2340
Website / Blog Page